Whole Foods, Plant Based Diet

[An...]

I have been eating a whole foods, plant based diet since 2013. This diet is advocated by doctors like Joel Fuhrman, John McDougall, Caldwell Esselstyn, and Dr. Neal Barnard. These are the current 4 big heavy hitters in plant based nutrition. I still eat small quantities of either fish or chicken, use as a meal condiment, but absolutely no dairy.

John McDougall has a wonderful forum for anyone interested is starting this WOE (way of eating).

Does anyone else here eat a WFPB diet? If yes, how long have you been doing it and have you experienced any positive health benefits from the diet?

• 2 months later...
I have been plant based since 2014.  I follow Mcdougalls starch solution.  I've read many books on the subject.  It works for me.

Do you post in the McD forum? I do but not regularly...perhaps, only once a month but I do watch a lot of the videos online.

I'm mostly WFPB, but I've decided to keep some animal protein in my diet -- mostly fish. I don't eat red meat or dairy, and I've minimized the eggs and chicken. I've read quite a bit about this diet and have watched numerous videos, and in general, I think it's great. You just have to be careful about things like vitamin B12, iodine, iron and calcium, depending on your individual needs.

I'm mostly WFPB, but I've decided to keep some animal protein in my diet -- mostly fish. I don't eat red meat or dairy, and I've minimized the eggs and chicken. I've read quite a bit about this diet and have watched numerous videos, and in general, I think it's great. You just have to be careful about things like vitamin B12, iodine, iron and calcium, depending on your individual needs.

Ditto! I agree 100%. I am like you...just a little chicken and fish.