Important Survey - Please Participate ×

Benzodiazaphines, pathological dementia and drug induced dementias

[cs...]

I'm adding a quick disclaimer based on some feedback

DISCLAIMER:  drug induced dementia is not the same as pathological dementia.  I think the news in the paper below is good news in that respect .  I personally had a hard time linking benzodiazaphines to pathological dementias like Alzheimer's and vascular dementia, which account for the majority of pathological dementia..... I'm no expert in this area, so if someone knows more about "drug induced dementias"  and if there are any therapies for it, please post. The best thing to do is get off the drug.  There are tons of links on drug induced dementia.

And here's more good news. The body has an amazing ability to heal.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27025096

Many drugs have been reported to induce not only delirium but also cognitive impairment. Some types of drugs are reported to induce dementia, and prolonged hypotension or hypoglycemia induced by overuse of antihypertensive drugs or oral antidiabetic drugs could result in dementia. Recently, taking multiple drugs with anticholinergic activity are reported to cause cognitive decline and anticholinergic burden should be avoided especially in patients with dementia. Drug-induced dementia can be prevented by avoiding polypharmacy and adhering to the saying 'start low and go slow' . Early diagnosis of drug-induced dementia and withdrawal of the offending drug is essential to improve cognitive function.

End quote

Hi all, I'm posting this for a fellow BB who is in need and also for others as an FYI

This topic is branched from the main thread here on interdose withdrawal modeling

http://www.benzobuddies.org/forum/index.php?topic=184940.0

From the research that I have done, I don't believe benzodiazaphines directly cause pathological dementia (for example Alzheimer's or vascular dementia).  The data is too inconsistent and sparse.