Suzy Cohen, Pharmacist: "Are You Taking a Medication that Causes Anxiety?"

[La...]

She writes, "As a pharmacist, I bet you think that I’m going to recommend a tranquilizer, but I’m not. That is the worst thing you could do and I rarely recommend drug treatment for this. In fact, I hold the opposite belief. I actually want you to consider the fact that a medication you take is CAUSING the anxiety and changes in your mood. 

For almost 7 million folks with GAD, it’s very possible that most of them are taking a medication that induces anxiety."

And here's what she has to say about benzodiazepines:

"Tranquilizers."

"Shocker isn’t it?!  The medicine you may be taking to relax can actually lead to anxiety and panic attacks. According to a 1995 study, it was known that in almost half the patients seeking advice for anxiety, panic and phobias the cause was either alcohol or benzodiazepine drugs like clonazepam, alprazolam, lorazepam and others.  The mechanism is complicated, but it’s due to a rebound arousal. Getting off these drugs is a nightmare, so I’d say don’t even start."

See article for complete list of medications that cause anxiety, according to this pharmacist.

http://suzycohen.com/articles/medications_cause_anxiety/

Thank you for this, Lapis!! Finally, some talk about benzos CAUSING anxiety and panic attacks. I wish doctors could understand this. It does no good to prescribe benzos except for very short term.

My sister knows a woman who is on Xanax and is very nervous. She says that she needs her Xanax, but it's a vicious cycle. The benzo causes anxiety, she begins feeling nervous, turns to Xanax. Repeat. That's how I felt being on Ativan, but I had no idea it was the drug.

I like Suzy's articles. I have it as part of my bookmarks now. Thank you!

I'm glad she wrote this. I just wish doctors would wake up!