Switching back from valium to Klonopin

[Ja...]

i am having a real hard time being on Valium. All I want to do is sleep and it seems to make me nauseous. I'm on a pretty high dose, 30 mg a day split into 3 doses. My doctor has decided to take me off the valium and put me back on Klonopin. I seem to function better on that. How do I go about crossing over? My doctor said to just stop the V and start taking the K. He has prescribed 1 mg. Three times a day. I'm praying someone can direct me on the proper way to do this switch.

Thank You,

Jazzy

Humm............I may be wrong and I'm no expert but it sounds like he's doubling your benzo dose.

The Ashton chart has 0.5k = to 10mgs of V

Crossing back shouldn't be too much of a challenge as the HL of K is shorter but decent.

Navita65,

Thank You for your response. I intend to only take 1.5 Mg a day of the K as you are right concerning the equivalent. For me the Valium has not touched my anxiety and they have made me very depressed and nonfunctional. When I was on the K I didn't feel this bad. I went into a detox and they took me off K and put me on V and that was 8 months ago.

My plan is to taper off the Benzo's but I need to get functional again before I can even consider doing that.

Best Regards,

Jazzy