Tapering after 13 years on K

[Tr...]

I was prescribed 3mg daily Klonopin 13 years ago to break a two-month-long migraine/face-pain that was triggered by surgery (thyroidectomy). The Klonopin did the trick, and I've been taking it ever since. It's time to try and get off it. I'm 51 and very determined, but worried that the surgery-induced face pain will return. I'm pretty sure it will because during my taper from 1.5mg daily to .75 daily it has reared its ugly head. I'm wondering if the surgery in 2002 did something to mess up my GABA receptors- something with the anesthesia. I very much want to find some Benzo Buddies because this is not something I talk about with my colleagues (I'm a university professor), and my close friends and family members do not "get it." Getting from 1.5mg to .75mg took me 9 months. I tried going lower this month, but went too fast in a milk taper, and the insomnia brought on a 4-day migraine that I just couldn't deal with so I went back up to .75 and am starting to feel "normal" again. I need support/hope and once I'm a free bird, I want to help others.

Hello TreeBird123.  Welcome to the forum, we're glad you found us!  Our members do understand what you're going through, and you'll find a lot of supporthere. Here are a few links you may find useful:

Withdrawal Support (during your taper).

The Ashton Manual is an authoritative source on what to expect in withdrawal and recovery.  Dr. Ashton is an expert in the field.  She describes and explains withdrawal symptoms, and there is also a section with withdrawal/taper schedules.

Please take the time to Create a Signature.  This will allow others to see where you are in the process so they can better support you.

Again, welcome!

:smitten: