Important Survey - Please Participate ×

Dakotagirl

[da...]

I had been using alprazolam for anxiety and insomnia for 24 years, in conjunction with a variety of antidepressants over time.  At one point during my career, I took high doses throughout the day almost every day.  For the past several years in retirement, use has slowly diminished to .5 mg Xanax daily at bedtime. At my annual physical last fall, my Dr encouraged me to discontinue Xanax entirely.  After trips were completed for the year, I stopped taking Xanax completely around Thanksgiving.  My Dr suggested using Welbutrin and Trazadone instead of the Xanax.  I had a bad reaction: tears. irritability, body discomfort and insomnia.  Welbutrin and Trazadone discontinued, and at Dr suggestion, tried Ambien. Worse reaction.  Currently taking nothing, since Dec. 4th.  Struggling with being emotional, crying, irritability, inability to get much done, muscles aches and weakness.  Also poor brain function in terms of memory, processing, reading.  All of this seems to be in waves with some better periods and some worse periods.  I am looking for suggestions to ease symptoms as well as suggestions to cope with the symptoms.  In addition, reassurance that I am making progress is needed.  I am fearful about permanent brain dysfunction. I have a one month followup with my Dr tomorrow morning.

Hi dakotagirl and welcome to the forum.

Your story is a familiar one to me.  Let me write this introductory post to you and then I'll write another one with some ideas for you.

I think you'll probably want to post in Cold Turkey, Detox and Rapid Withdrawal to get the best support for what's going on.

There's a ton of information on benzo withdrawal in the Ashton Manual which you can read if you click this link.