how to taper klonopin: i’m a beginner!

[lo...]

so i was told to start tapering by 10%, i have never heard of this. my doctor had me taper from 2 mg klonopin to 1.5 mg klonopin and i did okay with that. i thought the next step would be 1.5 mg to 1 mg but that was brutal. i came on here and i am very overwhelmed. how do i even start? would it be 10% of 1.5 mg? if so how do i break the pill into that small of a fraction? any help is appreciated!!!

I do understand your feeling overwhelmed about how to taper because I felt the same way.  I tapered off Klonopin 3mg/day by breaking my pills into quarters until I got down to 0.25mg and when the remaining pill got too small to cut with any precision, I switched to a water taper that I made myself.  There are several ways to taper other than simply cutting pills - you can use liquid or jewelers scales and dry taper by shaving and weighing small amounts from pills.  You can also check into having a compounding pharmacy make a liquid for you to taper with.

I suggest you stay where you are and stabilize first and do some reading first on how to taper from benzos while things settle down for you.  Given some time and information, it should become clearer to you as to how you want to go about this.

http://www.benzobuddies.org/forum/index.php?topic=9522.msg121458#msg121458

http://www.benzobuddies.org/forum/index.php?topic=231828.msg2975127#msg2975127