Benzo free after 1 year and 9 month taper!!

[Kl...]

Last night I took my last dose of Klonopin!! I'm so freaking excited (although feel exhausted, hard to think, pacing, shaking a bit, anxious, but I'll take it!)

I’ll share a snippet of what I posted on social media, trying to spread awareness of this horrible drug and the issues benzos can cause. I thought this group might appreciate this more than my friends and family, as no one understands this like you all do.

Today is a key milestone for me. I’ve been tapering a benzodiazepine for 1 year and 9 months, and last night I took my last dose (at 0.002mg). Yes, that is how long it has taken me to safely get off a medication I took as prescribed for less than 4 months (originally less than 6 weeks but I was unable to do the ‘standard’ rapid taper off successfully, and in turn, kept getting put on more meds and told to stay on my benzo). No this is not addiction - that is a totally different challenge. This is dependence, where my brain could not function normally without taking this painfully slow; my GABA receptors have been damaged and my brain out of synch. My symptoms have been debilitating and shaken me to my core. I’ve had horrible, terrifying panic attacks that sent me to the hospital, crippling anxiety where I feel like my nervous system is on fire, insomnia, inability to focus, exhaustion, dizziness, shaking, tinnitus, full body aches, stomach aches, crazy sneezing attacks, the list goes on.

And this taper and benzo brain injury has happened during one of the most intensely crazy times in my and my family’s lives. Like they say ‘when it rains it pours’... well the last few years it’s been a monsoon. Here’s a glimpse at the past few years highlights (outside of the insane macro environment of this time period):

- 6 deaths in our family, including the devastating loss of my father in law, who passed last month.