My Story/Need Help Planning Taper from .5mg Klonopin Taken Almost Daily Approaching 4 Years

[su...]

Good Evening,

Almost 4 years ago I was 19 in my freshman year of University when I was first prescribed .5mg Klonopin.

I was prescribed as I have been smoking marijuana daily since 15 years old and was over-consuming. I have always had some anxieties and can remember a few panic attacks when I was young but a manageable amount. This freshman year when I was 18-19 I was smoking as soon as I woke up even before classes and until I went to sleep. This harmful cycle along with insecurities I had at the time led me to become quite anxious (relative to before smoking so much). 

I eventually reached out to a psychiatrist and was prescribed .5mg of Klonopin at 1 dose per day (omitting mention of my marijuana use). At the time and not until recently did I really understand how destructive and addictive the drug could be and I saw it as a logical solution.

Almost 2 years into starting my .5mg prescription I was at a time in my life where I made a series of stupid decisions that ended up with me abusing powerful pressed street xanax along with hydrocodone mixed in on the occasion. This was merely a binge that lasted about 2 weeks but own my behavior was so jarring I decided to stop the street drugs along with my prescribed klonopin cold turkey. I went through hell from day 3-6 and experienced nearly every symptom except a seizure. I was actually pretty successful in this attempt as despite how hard it was I didn't take a benzo dose for nearly a month. Unfortunately I ended up going back on my klonopin as I still didn't have the perspective I do now.