3 months out: reflecting as a physician. Believe, endure & succeed.

[si...]

Hi everyone,

I started taking Xanax 2.5 years ago for the treatment of insomnia. Initial dose was 0.25mg, but this kept escalating over time as I became dependent until I reached a max dose of around 2mg nightly. I am a physician in training and work a very demanding job. You feel you should have known better than being on benzodiazepines? Well, imagine how I felt. I understand the negative judgement I may receive for this, but I felt it's appropriate to be forthcoming about my background.

Initially taking benzodiazepines was a miracle drug. Everything seemed better: sleep, anxiety, work and social life. Slowly, however, I started noticing its impacts, particularly at work. I was becoming more tired, depressed, anxious, slow and anything but my former self. I tried to taper several times by myself, but in retrospect did so too rapidly. It was challenging to taper and maintain the same functioning at work. My colleagues started noticing that I was more tired lately, but this was brushed off to the demands of a busy schedule and long on call shifts. The guilt of me inadvertently making an error at work started haunting me every day. I was afraid of further harming myself, and worst of all my patients. For these reasons, I decided to quit cold turkey.