Crossing from Ativan to Valium

[Pe...]

iLQu63d.png

Hello again!

I have done my best to draw up a crossover schedule to smoothly transition to 100% Valium.

I have done a couple of experiments this initial week, as I have never tried Valium before.

My psychiatrist suggested I would be able to dose just at night, but I was suspicious of this from the get go. It certainly did not work with his insisted 5mg. Taking 7.5mg at night instead of 5mg does not really last me into the next day either, I just wake up sleepier. He said I could take up to 10mg, but I won't try that.

I have also tried taking 2.5mg during the daytime, but it is still a bit too sedating, which persists even after the anxiety breaks through.

So, I have made my own schedule with the aim of building some tolerance to the sedation, allowing the Valium to build up in my blood, while gradually phasing out the Ativan.

Does this look okay so far? I am open to going faster or slower. I might switch around the morning/afternoon doses too, depending on the day. There may be some days where it's better to deal with any sedation earlier or later. But I would keep the total amounts of Ativan vs Valium consistent.

I feel like I may be able to transition faster than this, but I’ll wait and see. No need to rush. Thanks for anyone who took the time to read this!

I personally wouldnt recommend dropping by .25mg A or 2.5mg V while transitioning. That is a pretty steep drop. I would want to stay on equivalency theoughout the switch to know what was working.

Good to hear from someone else who has also come off of Ativan! I appreciate your input.  :smitten:

1.25mg A is uncomfortable for me, but definitely doable. I am already feeling a lot more level by incorporating some of the V instead. It seems like .25mg A lasts about 3 hours for me, while 2.5mg V stays for closer to 6 or so.