Having some trouble

[17...]

I had taken Klonopin for 17 years for panic disorder. I was prescribed .5 mg as needed up to 2x a day. I've never gone past 1 mg a day.

I have a joint disorder (EDS) that isn't degenerative but has resulted in damage to my jaw joint due to me unconsciously tensing my muscles. My doc swapped me from .5 Klonopin as needed up to 2x per day to 5 mg Diazapam to see if that would help, as the Klonopin seemed to wear off mid day and I suspected that when it I would get severe jaw muscle tensing. They noted Diazepam has a longer half life, is a great muscle relaxer, and will allow me to titrate down if I wanted to so therefore checked a lot of boxes. I was told to skip a day of klonopin and start Diazapam the next day.

The low dose ended poorly, and the doc bumped the dose to 10 mg as the rebound anxiety and muscle tensing was overwhelming. I now take 5 mg in the morning and 5 mg in the evening. I've been doing this for 6 months or so. The rebound anxiety got a little better with the swap to 10 mg Diazepam but it is still pretty darn bad. I used to be a solid public speaker for example as that's part of my job, but now when I need to speak publicly at prepared events I have full blown panic attacks before and recently find myself avoiding opportunities to speak at prepared work events.

My questions for those that can help:

- Is there a non-benzo muscle relaxer that can help here? Anyone else go through terrible muscle tensing that has resulted in joint damage, such as the jaw joint? This muscle tensing is kicking my butt and the pain is chronic. I'm assuming this is exacerbating the anxiety I have and is partly responsible for the short term / working memory issues I'm running into. I'm working on this but standard OTC medicine doesn't work. The treatment i found that did work is botox, but it is costly even with insurance covering it.