9YrsFree, Finally Shared My Story with an Audience in F2F Life

[Af...]

Dear Buddies,

On March 16th, I celebrated 9 Yrs Benzo Free by sharing my story for the first time with a diverse audience in the F2F world. I did it for us—buddies like you—who know what it’s like to be shocked into wordlessness, or face a fear so big you need to wrap yourself in a pharmaceutical cocoon. I want to raise awareness, because none of us asked for this, and none of us deserves the stigma we so often face.

I’ve finally found a way to tell my story that doesn’t scare people or cause them to shut down. I had to get creative… I framed my benzo experience within the context of a Greek myth about a girl named Persephone, who was abducted into hell and had to fight her way back. I used a lot of images, because I wanted people to sense and feel what it was like for us, physically. I didn’t want them to get stuck in their heads.

I’ve been a student of archetypal psychology for five years. I was attracted because I could relate my personal benzo experience to its concepts of transformative suffering and archetypal descent and return. Also, I liked the idea of placing my personal pain within a spiritual context without the trappings of western religion.

You’ll be glad to hear that my presentation was well received. And as a special treat, Fliprain—one of my mentors here at BB—attended to support me, and she spoke during the Q&A. She is 10YrsFree, and an inspiration to us all.

One final bit of good news—I’ve been asked to give this presentation again. This time to a group of academics and Jungian professionals. (more people to educate!) So it looks like I’ve finally found my way to give back to BB, quirky as it is. We need our stories told in as many ways as possible, until hopefully there comes a day when we no longer need an anonymous forum at all.

Sending love,

Aft :smitten: