Fewer veterans with PTSD using anti-anxiety drugs

[Ch...]

Article: http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/12/16/us-veterans-with-ptsd-idUSTRE7BF1FN20111216

Excerpts:

"One of our concerns is that it's very, very difficult to get patients off benzodiazepines," said Dr. Matthew Friedman, executive director of the National Center for PTSD and a professor of psychiatry at Dartmouth, who co-authored the study

"We believe a lot of benzodiazepines are being prescribed for problems with sleep, which is also a symptom of depression," Friedman told Reuters Health. "If we treat the depression, perhaps the insomnia will also go away."

[aa...]

Yep, I am a veteran, and I had PTSD at one time, but I never used medication for it and after awhile it faded.  Fast foward 5 years later, I have one panic attack from an herb I took and that gets me a truck load of ativan and now that I am in withdrawal my doctor said its possibly PTSD from the Iraq war 5 years ago not withdrawal.  Makes me so mad!  But thank you for this article. 

Rob

Hi Rob,

Figured there might be a few of you guys here.  I can understand your anger.  When I read these articles, it feels like these doctors are just being reckless.  I never had PTSD and have never served so I cannot speak for either situation.  However,  I would be angry if I found out that the treatment I was receiving had already been proven to be ineffective for my condition.  Especially if it puts us in the situation we are in today.  What are you hearing from those you served with about any of this?  I hope the problem isn't as big as it seems.  Thanks for sharing your story.

Christopher

My take on sleep and depression.

It is sometimes thought that insomnia is a symptoms of depression. Also, insomnia is thought to precede depression.