Xanax to Klonopin substitution rate

[ar...]

I'm a newbie here.  Several weeks ago, I tapered my Xanax from .5mg (3 times per day) to .25mg (3 times per day).  I tapered it within a matter of days, and it is evident that this was way too quickly--  I am now plagued by dizziness and headaches, which peak in their intensity between doses.  I brought up the issue of substitution with my doctor this morning.  He is unwilling to substitute with Diazepam, but he is willing to use Klonopin for this purpose.

My existing schedule is:

7am: .25mg X    12pm: .25mg X      5pm: .25mg X

My doctor is advocating a switch tomorrow to:

7am: .25mg K    12pm: .25mg X (prn "rescue dose")  5pm: .25mg K

I am wondering if this immediate, total substitution is a bit abrupt, and if I should make the switch to Klonopin a bit slower.  I wonder if I should start a little slower, such as:

7am: .25mg X    12pm: .25mg K    5pm:  .25mg X

to be followed by:

7am: .25mg X    12pm: .25mg K    5pm: .25mg K

and then:

7am: .25mg K    12pm: .25mg K    5pm: .25mg K

...and then taper the Klonopin down from there.  What do you think of my plan?  Is it sound in regards to a slower substitution?  Is there anything I might need to consider in regard to time of day, etc?  If my plan is put into effect, is a week for each portion of my substitution a good estimate to start with?  Thank you for your help.

I'm a newbie here.  Several weeks ago, I tapered my Xanax from .5mg (3 times per day) to .25mg (3 times per day).  I tapered it within a matter of days, and it is evident that this was way too quickly--  I am now plagued by dizziness and headaches, which peak in their intensity between doses.  I brought up the issue of substitution with my doctor this morning.  He is unwilling to substitute with Diazepam, but he is willing to use Klonopin for this purpose.

My existing schedule is:

7am: .25mg X     12pm: .25mg X      5pm: .25mg X

My doctor is advocating a switch tomorrow to: