My Xanax Taper

[Be...]

I was ordered 1mg X qhs. I only took about .75mg or .875mg most nights. Last week I had an episode of trigeminal neuralgia and was ordered carbamazepine (Tegretol). While I am a nurse, I was in too much pain to question the medication or to look up interactions. Bad move. I took 2 doses Wed. and one dose early Thurs. By mid-day Thurs. the s/s hit and I recognized the w/draw. Sure enough, when I looked up the interactions, carbamazepine competes w/ X for a metabolic enzyme and will seriously lower the absorption and action of X.  There is a warning not to prescribe them together. Neither the doctor nor the pharmacist caught that. It was even on the information sheet that came w/ the script. I will never take a medication again unless I look up interactions. I normally look things up if I don't know, but I was too miserable with nerve pain. This medical error could have been avoided.

Anyway, I stopped the carbamazepine and continued the X but at .875mg and slowly am coming around 6 days later. I had heavy withdrawal over the weekend. Now, they are tolerable: mild anxiety, tinnitus, early wakening, tension, mild restlessness.

Prior to this, I was taking the X at bedtime only, but for the taper I switched to TID. I am now taking .25gm at 4am, .25mg at 1pm and .25  and .125mg at bedtime. I just eliminated the .125mg dose, so I am at .25mg TID (.75mg).

My plan is to stay at this dose for 2 weeks to stabilize and then taper every 3 weeks (more or less depending on how well I feel). The next change would be to go down to .25mg am,.125mg  afternoon and .25mg qhs. Then, go down to .125mg am, .125 afternoon, .25mg qhs, etc, eliminating a half of a .25mg tablet every 3 weeks until I am at .125mg/day.