New to tapering need help to combat nausea

[Je...]

Hi,

I am new to tapering. I started last week with tapering to get rid of my long time Ativan addiction of 30 years. Even before tapering I felt nauseous. After ruling out anything medical the nausea is probably related to the Ativan use. Now with the tapering the nausea has become debilitating and looking for thoughts on how to reduce the nausea.

Thanks

Before: variable between 6-10 mg Ativan per day

1/22/2023 using 2 mg Ativan 20 mg Diazepam

This is the key symptom for my wife as well.  This is what we've treated it with:

- Emetrol - This is a low risk anti nausea used by pregnant women.  The dosage is 15mg per serving, and they only say you can take 5 doses in an hour.  My wife takes one dose of it and it seems to help and work well, but for some reason she is too afraid to take it (I think this is part of some ptsd anxiety from taking this pill and not knowing the risks).

- CBD Oil cannabadoil - She got one from the medicinal marijuana dispensary and they told her it was specifically for nausea.  She takes a dropper of this every morning after breakfast and it seems to address her nausea.

- Electrolytes - Electrolytes are great for helping hydrate your body and helps reduce the feeling of nausea.  Gatorade is fine, but my wife likes the Pedialyte electrolyte beverage, she feels it is safer. 

- Eating Crackers/saltines through the day. 

- Ginger tea, ginger chews.  We buy ginger root at trader joes and she makes a tea out of it.  We also get these ginger chews she'll chew every so often. 

I’m fairly new also & digestive issues in particular, nausea was the reason I started tapering.At start I dropped 4 dress sizes (around 20kgs). I’m in Australia. I’ve had 2 colonoscopies & gastroscopes which showed nothing. My GI doc started me on Domperidone for the nausea and slow motility. Nausea settled for around 1 month until recent cut however it’s not as bad as before.