Symptom mindfulness versus obsession

[Ho...]

Hi everyone. I just wanted to put this thought out there in case anyone else can relate!

I’m big on mindfulness - meditation, deep breathing, identifying somatic symptoms. One of my favorite things to do is Pilates or yoga when I really focus on my body’s signals and what it’s pain is trying to tell me. I’m also a child therapist so a lot of my work is trying to get children to understand our personal physical symptoms that our body gives us to cue emotional or mental distress.

While being mindful is an incredibly helpful tool, does anyone find that sometimes it crosses into obsessive territory and hurts the recovery process? Every tiny discomfort or pain my body, I feel  like I pay too much attention to and over analyze. I can’t help but think that some of my symptoms are exacerbated by the attention I’m giving to them.

I know a lot of people on here use a “taper journal” where they document side effects of the withdrawal, but how much attention and notice is too much? Do your symptoms seem worse when hyper focused on? It’s extremely important and beneficial to monitor our bodies, but I feel like it’s turning my symptoms into self full filling prophecies, and that my symptoms would be a lot less if I didn’t give them so much attention.

Basically, what is your experience with balancing a health awareness of symptoms versus become obsessed at every change in mood or physical discomfort? Where is that line of healthy mindfulness and how does crossing that impact your own recovery?