From Ativan to Valium....Help

[as...]

I am new to all of this, and quite frankly scared to tears so much of the time... :'( I have looked into a titration scedule a couple of days ago, have all of my equipment, but am now second guessing that decision. I am thinking doing a crossover to valium might be a better answer for me. Maybe not...Perhaps some of the wise on this forum can jump in with advice to help me.

I have been on and off of ativan for about 3 years. Mostly off, taken every so often for sleep (just .25mg or less) once or twice a week at most. Then a year ago with my pdocs urging (it is safe) I began to take .25 every nite at bedtime. Five months ago when I injured my back I upped the dose to .50 mg twice a day to help with the pain and sleep. Then, 2 1/2 months ago, anxiety then got worse and I developed the dizzy walking on a boat, achiness stuff. My body was telling me "enough" But the doc assured me it was not from the meds and upped my dose  (she wanted me on 2mg a day). I fortunately did not listen and stayed at about .75 a day divided into 4 doses.

I started cutting back about 3 weeks ago and am down to .62 mg a day in 4 doses. I do have the interdose w/d. And hate it. Makes dealing with the fear of all of this more difficult. With the relatively low dose I am on would it make sense to c/o? I am seeing my Doc again tomorrow AM and though of presenting him with this...and having some hope... :)

So if any one could give me some much needed advice ( and a little cyber hug :'() I would be grateful. And how to do it....

I didn't do either the crossover from ativan or titration so am not sure how useful my observations would be but I have read a lot of other people's experiences so here goes:

1.  Many people do well crossing over to valium and then tapering; others find it difficult and end up going back to their previous benzo.  There's no way to know up front which category you will be in.