Announcement: It is with regret... ×

Klonopin water taper (advice needed please)

[Bo...]

Hi everyone. Helping a friend plan out her next taper as she is having trouble cognitively and sometimes all the taper options are even a lot for someone to grasp having full cognitive strength! Feedback is appreciated as she is wanting to attempt a water taper and I have zero experience with it other that watching Jocelyn?s videos (Benzo Brains on YouTube) when I first was looking at taper options last year.

Backstory-

She is in British Columbia. She tapered 1mg Klonopin from 2016-2019 and had a hard time with BInD after. In March/April 2022 she was struggling with anxiety still and Dr had her start Zoloft and Seroquel.  She had bad reaction to both of them- became very agitated and had akathisia. Her Dr CTd both of those and started her on 90mg Cymbalta (still currently on) and 1 mg of K for 2 weeks??a fast taper of K was then done. 

She reinstated 6/27/2022 at .5mg K and for the last year she has been on .5mg K to ?stabilize?. Dr also had her on 10mg Loxapine antipsychotic from 2022-March 2023 daily and told her maybe pacing caused by this so had her taper. Then added 5mg Methoprazone 5/1/23 for sleep but was very sedated and groggy. She?s tapered down to 2mg currently of this.

She feels she?s in constant tolerance for K, but her Dr tells her she?s not ready for further tapering- She need to keep holding or go higher on K which she has declined.  She is scared because she went through this hell already once.

Her Klonopin tablet doses are:

-0.25mg twice a day, once at 8:30am and other at 9pm

-They are the blue generic name pms clonazapam manufactured by Pharmascience Inc.  They can dissolve under the tongue, but she usually takes them with water

- she wants an initial estimate taper time around a year